FAQ

BIG IMPACT WITH LITTLE DOSAGE

VISCOSPEED for next Generation HFFR-Compounds

Applications

VISCOSPEED in Aluminium Composite Panels (ACP)

higher processing speed and throughput

VISCOSPEED in Cable Compounds

efficient processing combined with flame retardancy

VISCOSPEED in TPO Roofing Membranes

extremely filled concentrates to convey anti-dripping behaviour

Mode of action

Improved wetting of natural milled flame retardant filler
VISCOSPEED works as excellent processing aid for highly filled composites based on Aluminiumhydroxide (ATH), Magnesiumhydroxide (MDH), talc and Calcium Carbonate (CaCO3).
By using VISCOSPEED the viscosity of the composite is reduced. Simultaneously, overheating in the extrusion process is decreased. This is due to an optimal dispersion of filler aggregates into very fine particles. By this, significantly higher processing speeds, even at very high mineral loadings and an optimal flame retardancy is obtained.

Benefits

Testimonials

One of our most important customers for ACP was able to further increase, their already very high, MDH content, by using VISCOSPEED. Having similar processability, the new panel was more cost-efficient and achieved better flame retardant properties with PCS<9 MJ/kg.

Thanks to extensive study of VISCOSPEED in different cable compounds, INNOSPEC found a way to completely avoid aluminium hydroxide (ATH) in CPR compliant sheathing compounds. With the suitable polymer components and the optimal dispersion of natural magnesium hydroxide (MDH) by VISCOSPEED, mechanical and flame retardant properties were suited for EN 50399 regulation. The main results of these studies were published in the October 2020 issue of the Compounding World magazine. The results of our study were published in Compounding World in October 2020.

One of our customers producing concentrates for TPO roofing membranes, is able to considerably increase the MDH content and at the same time maintain processability. VISCOSPEED helped to achieve an increase of 12 % towards 82 % MDH-content. The increased filler content had a big impact to lower compound cost and additionally optimized flame retardant properties for the end- user.

"VISCOSPEED is a versatile additive, which has achieved positive results in all my studies. That is why it is now a permanent part of my development work for new formulations for halogen-free flame retardant compounds. In most cases, VISCOSPEED brings the decisive advantage. VISCOSPEED is really a perfect additive for my development."
VISCOSPEED ist wirklich ein perfektes Additiv für meine Entwicklung“.

About Innospec Leuna

Ethylene is our base. We polymerize at high pressure, i.e. at 2,000 bar. This is how we produce waxes and other specialty products such as diesel additives for freezing temperatures.

Since 2004, Innospec Leuna has been part of the global Innospec Group, which focuses on chemical additives for various applications. In Leuna we employ 110 people and generate about €50 millions in sales. Our customers benefit from our flexibility, high quality standards, good application-related advice and competitive conditions.

We are certified according to:

Any Questions left?

Don't hesitate to contact us. We'll get back to you by email within a few business days.

FAQ

VISCOSPEED is a special polar polymer with waxy-like properties, designed to optimize the processing of halogen-free flame retardant (HFFR) compounds.

In opposite to other processing aids VISCOSPEED does not cause a decrease in flame retardancy. In fact it is able to optimize flame retardant performance. Moreover, VISCOSPEED acts as internal lubricant and yields a more homogeneous melt.

VISCOSPEED is able to destroy flame retardant filler aggregates into primary particles and enables an efficient dispersion of the filler, causing a more efficient flame retardancy. Furthermore, due to its special composition, VISCOSPEED is able to interact with the inorganic filler to improve char formation and ultimately the anti-dripping behaviour. This is especially important for non-polar base polymers.

Depending on the application and special formulation, VISCOSPEED is used in different concentrations from 0.5 to 3 percent. Get in touch with us to get a recommendation for your formulation.

VISCOSPEED is available as dust-free powder of a mean particle size of 0.5 mm or granules (mean particle size of 4 mm).

Request sample

Test our product yourself. After sending your request, we will send you a sample of Viscospeed within 10 working days.

Christoph Bornschein

Customer Technical Service

2019 collection

Learn more about VISCOSPEED and how it works in the October 2020 issue of Compounding World.

FAQ

BIG IMPACT WITH LITTLE DOSAGE

VISCOSPEED for next Generation HFFR-Compounds

Anwendungsbereiche

VISCOSPEED in Aluminium Sandwichpaneelen (ACP)

schnellere Verarbeitung und gesteigerte Ausstöße

VISCOSPEED in Kabel Compounds

kombiniert Flammschutz mit effektiver Verarbeitung

VISCOSPEED in TPO-Dachbahnen

hochgefüllte Konzentrate vermitteln geringere Tropfneigung

Wirkungsweise

Optimale Benetzung von gemahlenen, natürlichen Flammschutzmitteln
VISCOSPEED ist als Verarbeitungshilfsmittel ganz besonders geeignet für hochgefüllte Verbundwerkstoffe mit Aluminium- (ATH) und/oder Magnesiumhydroxid (MDH)
Mithilfe von VISCOSPEED wird die Viskosität der Polymerschmelze reduziert. Dies geschieht durch eine feine Verteilung der Füllstoffe in der Polymermatrix. Auf diese Weise wird auch die Flammschutzwirkung der Füllstoffe verbessert und es erlaubt zudem eine bedeutend schnellere Verarbeitung bei hohen Füllstoffdosierungen.

Vorteile

Erfahrungs­berichte

Mithilfe von VISCOSPEED konnte ein bedeutender Kunde für Aluminium Sandwichpaneele seinen bereits hohen Magnesiumhydroxid-Anteil weiter steigern und somit noch bessere Flammschutzeigenschatften erzielen.

Im Zuge einer umfangreichen Studie, zur Anwendung vom VISCOSPEED in verschiedenen Compounds für Kabelummantelungen, konnte INNOSPEC einen Weg finden vollständig auf das preisintensive Aluminiumhydroxid (ATH) als Flammschutzmittel zu verzichten. Mithilfe der geeigneten Polymerkomponente und einer durch VISCOSPEED optimierten Dispergierung konnten die mechanischen Eigenschaften der Compounds im gewünschten Bereich gehalten werden. Die Ergebnisse unserer Studie wurden im Oktober 2020 in der Compounding World publiziert.

Ein Kunde, welcher MDH-Konzentrate für TPO-basierte Dachbahnen herstellt, ist dank VISCOSPEED in der Lage deutlich höhere Füllstoff-Konzentrationen zu erzielen und gleichzeitig die Verarbeitbarkeit zu gewährleisten. Es konnte eine Steigerung von 12 % auf 82 % MDH-Gehalt erzielt werden. Diese gesteigerte Füllstoffmenge erlaubt eine enorme Kostenreduktion und darüber hinaus eine optimierte Flammhemmung durch synergistische Eigenschaften vom VISCOSPEED.

„VISCOSPEED ist ein vielfältiges Additiv, was in all meinen Studien positive Ergebnisse erzielt hat. Deshalb ist es mittlerweile ein ständiger Bestandteil meiner Entwicklungsarbeit für neue Formulierungen für halogenfreie Flammschutzcompounds. In den meisten Fällen bringt VISCOSPEED den entscheidenden Vorteil.
VISCOSPEED ist wirklich ein perfektes Additiv für meine Entwicklung“.

Über Innospec Leuna

Ethylen ist unsere Basis. Mit Hochdruck, also mit 2.000 bar, polymerisieren wir. Damit produzieren wir Wachse und andere Spezialprodukte wie Dieseladditive für frostige Temperaturen.

Seit 2004 gehört Innospec Leuna zur weltweiten Innospec Gruppe, die auf chemische Additive für verschiedene Anwendungen fokussiert ist. In Leuna erarbeiten wir mit 110 Mitarbeitern einen Umsatz von gut 50 Mio. €. Unsere Kunden profitieren von unserer Flexibilität, den hohen Qualitätsstandards, einer guten anwendungsbezogenen Beratung sowie wettbewerbsfähigen Konditionen.

Wir sind zertifiziert nach:

Fragen Sie uns

Zögern Sie nicht, uns zu kontaktieren. Wir melden uns innerhalb von wenigen Werktagen per E-Mail bei Ihnen zurück.

FAQ

VISCOSPEED ist ein polares Polymer, speziell optimiert um die Verarbeitung von halogenfreien Flammschutz-Compounds zu verbessern.

Im Gegensatz zu andern Prozesshilfsmitteln verursacht VISCOSPEED keine Verschlechterung der Flammschutzeigenschaften, sondern verbessert diese sogar. VISCOSPEED wirkt zusätzlich als internes Gleitmittel und verbessert dadurch auch die Homogenität der Polymerschmelze.

VISCOSPEED zerstört Agglomerate und sorgt durch eine optimale Verteilung feinster Flammschutzpartikel für eine effektivere Flammschutzwirkung. Weiterhin sorgt VISCOSPEED durch seine spezielle chemische Zusammensetzung für eine verbesserte Krustenbildung und damit geringere Tropfneigung. Dies wird besonders bei unpolaren Basispolymeren deutlich.

VISCOSPEED wird je nach Anwendung und Formulierung in unterschiedlichen Konzentrationen eingesetzt. Kontaktieren Sie uns um eine Empfehlung für Ihre Formulierung zu erhalten.

VISCOSPEED kann als staubfreies Feingranulat mit einer mittleren Partikelgröße von ca. 0,5 mm oder als Tropfgranulat (mittleren Partikelgröße von ca. 4 mm) geliefert werden.

Muster anfordern

Testen Sie unser Produkt selbst. Nach Absenden Ihrer Anfrage lassen wir Ihnen innerhalb von 10 Werktagen ein Muster von Viscospeed zukommen.

Christoph Bornschein

Customer Technical Service

2019 collection

Mehr über VISCOSPEED und seine Wirkungsweise in der Compounding World Ausgabe vom Oktober 2020 erfahren.